This is a topic that I don’t discuss often. I tend to shy away from discussing how I gave birth because I find that childbirth and, really, parenting in general, is turned in to a competition in our society. Some women think they are superior for breastfeeding, or having a “natural birth” or what have you. Even non-parent members of society can fall prey to these types of attitudes, leveling their expectations of pregnancy, childbirth, and parenting at unsuspecting, emotionally vulnerable mothers. I refuse to participate in the “my horse is bigger than your horse” comparison game that many women play, which lends itself to being silent on how I gave birth.

In this case, I chose to break my silence speak up in hopes of offering support and encouragement. This is my story on how I had an emergency induction without an epidural or stadol. I hope it can encourage a few of my friends (and readers) who are nearing the end stages of their pregnancies and want to be prepared for the possibility of having an induction.

I had an emergency induction out of necessity. I know this situation can be scary, especially if you were expecting to have an uneventful birth, but emergency inductions don’t have to be a bad thing. I was induced for several different medical problems that I had throughout my pregnancy…

How To Have An Induction Without Pain Medication

