Over the years I’ve heard a lot of people complain about losing the “last five pounds” that they think is keeping them from their ideal body weight. Generally, when you are trying to lose weight, you will hit a plateau and weigh a little bit above what your target weight was. A lot of people are frustrated and discouraged by this, and as a result, there have been countless products (shakes, diet pills, workout programs, etc) marketed to help them.  A quick google search shows dozens of “how-to” articles to get rid of the unwanted last five pounds.

A lot of people think that these last five pounds are a problem. I’d honestly never given it much thought considering I was able to drop as much weight as I wanted during my worst period of anorexia. Even after my son was born, I didn’t think much of whether or not my fat storages fluctuated, because I was nursing him and they were there to help me out.

Last month, my toddler and I got some kind of bug. He vomited twice, had some diarrhea and acted totally normal. It landed me in 36 hours of excruciating abdominal pain, nausea, and vomiting. Within those 36 hours, I vomited three times – everything I ate and drank. I couldn’t even get up off of the couch or the bed without wondering if I would pass out.

Read More…

