phone

Hi there! 🙂

If you are a parent, I’m sure you’ve run across the advice of putting your cell phone in the back seat. 

While this has been controversial advice, I agree with it.

But not for the reason you might think.

Originally, this advice was given in an attempt to stop children from dying after being left in cars. There were many child and infant deaths over the summer because their caregiver left them in hot vehicles while they ran errands.

This caused a bit of an uproar. There were people saying that cell phones should not be more easy to remember than children. There were people claiming that a messed up routine can cause even the best, most loving caregiver to forget a child.

Cue the name-calling, sanctimommies and mommy wars.

I don’t claim to know who was right in these arguments. Though I think there was a little truth on all sides.

Regardless of who was right or wrong, this advice doesn’t just apply to parents…

So please, put your phone in the backseat.

Why?

Because you don’t need your cell phone while driving.

And, quite honestly, I don’t want you on your cell phone while you’re driving.

Just this past week I was driving into our apartment complex with Bubba in the backseat and as I came up on the curve before our parking lot, there was a young man driving well above the speed limit while his phone was in his hand and his eyes were glued to the screen.

I understand people are busy. But I don’t want you, me or Bubba to be “busied” into an early grave!

At the risk of sounding preachy…Driving while using a cell phone is dangerous for everyone.

I’m no saint. I’ve done it a lot.

I’ve used the driving feature on my cell phone, it locks my phone and sends an automatic text to everyone who texts me during the time it is active, but there have still been times I’ve unlocked it to call someone while driving.

You know what guarantees me to be unable to use it while driving?

Putting it in the backseat.

There are always exceptions for why you would need your phone while driving, like getting lost and needing to call for help, but exceptions generally make for bad rules.

You can pull over and retrieve your phone if you get lost.

If you aren’t comfortable putting it in the backseat, or worried you may be unable to reach it in an accident, try putting it in the front passenger seat in your purse or bag, just far enough that you can’t reach it while buckled up.

Phones can become a projectile in a crash, so it’s better that they be properly stored anyways.

It’s hard to leave my cell phone anywhere, because if I’m honest, it’s kind if addictive.

I know I’m not the only one.

It’s easy to say an accident will never happen to you, but it’s often impossible to reverse the damage of one if you are wrong.

Please, for the sake of you, me, Bubba, and everyone else, put your phone away before you start driving. ❤

New Crunchy Mom

