Hi there!

Remember how I said I was making a surprise for New Crunchy Dad yesterday?

Well, the surprise was a Paleo chocolateย pumpkin tartย that I found on Pinterest.

Although we don’t follow a specific diet in our house, we are loosely Paleo/AIP due to the food allergies and intolerances we have, so I was very excited to find this recipe.The recipe is from the Unconventional Baker.

Instead of maple syrup, I substituted xylitol (we are a low/no sugar household) for sweetener and I used flax milk for the frosting.

She decorated the top of her tart with a spider web and made it look fancy.

I tried, guys. I really did…

IMG_0216
All that remained of the tart when I pulled it out this morning…

To be fair, I had the piping bag and everything to try to make a spiderweb design on the top, but somebody decided to wiggle around in the K’tan while I was attempting to put it on.

So, I just covered the whole top in frosting. Why not, right? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Was it pretty?

Not really.

Was it good?

Well, I didn’t eat all of that, so either New Crunchy Dad liked it, or we have a gremlin in the apartment (though that would explain the missing socks…).

Am I making it again?

Most definitely! ๐Ÿ™‚

What have you tried off of Pinterest lately? ๐Ÿ™‚

New Crunchy Mom

