Hi there! 🙂

Today has been full of adventure, and Bubba is in serious need of a bath!

You know what that little stinker did when I drew the bath? Fell asleep! On me. So now I can’t even go take a bath. Silly Bubba!

I want to talk about something I feel like is important for other moms out there. ..

Identity

I’ve watched and observed so many of my friends with concern and I think it’s time I asked…

Before you became a mom, who were you?

I was:

  • A newly wed
  • A 3rd year college student
  • A homeschool graduate
  • An 18 year old (Bubba was born a few days before my 19th birthday)
  • A dancer (not a graceful one, though 😉 )
  • A stay at home wife

How do you define yourself since you became a mom?

Do you feel like you’ve lost yourself?

Do you feel like you’ve added “mommy” to your list of roles, or do you feel like you’ve replaced everything with it?

I usually only define myself by being “Bubba’s mom”. But I’ve realized, it’s not always healthy to only define ourselves as mothers.

Defining yourself as a mother is great, don’t get me wrong! But, we have other parts of our identity too, and if we don’t nurture them, they will fade.

I have to nurture my relationship with my husband, because that is still part of my life after giving birth. It would be terrible for our relationship to erode because I only focused on being a mom.

Some days, being a mom feels like it consumes my life. Baby poop, diapers, milk, spit-up, musical baby toys, baby laundry, baby books, etc. I’m surrounded!

While that’s not a bad thing, necessary, I feel like it is healthy to take time for yourself, your hobbies, your friends, and your spouse!

When was the last time you did something that didn’t somehow relate to your baby? It’s been a while, if you can even remember it, right?

It’s hard to make time to work on yourself, but even just a couple of minutes a day you could focus on something you are interested in! (easier said than done, I know!)

Text a friend, read a little bit of a book you like, look through Pinterest for a new hairstyle or makeup idea, try a new recipe that sounds good to you, or take a bath (by yourself – haha)!

Being a mom can be overwhelming, so please, take some time for yourself every once in a while! ❤ You are important!

Share with me in the comments, tell your story!

Who were you before you became mommy? Who are you now?

New Crunchy Mom

