Hi there! πŸ™‚

Yesterday Bubba and I visited a nursing home. We were actually going to see some of my friends that were performing there (I used to be a dancer, not a graceful one, but a dancer nonetheless πŸ˜‰ ).

First, we went to the wrong nursing home. Turns out, there are two with the exact same name here in town.

When we made it to the first one, I lifted Bubba out of his carseat and wrapped him up in our blue K’tan. It’s so hot here that by the time we made it to the front door (we parked behind the building) we were both covered in sweat! :p When we got inside I explain who I was looking for and the entire time there were different ladies there marveling at the K’tan. πŸ™‚

One said, “Oh, I wish they would’ve had these when I was a young mother. Everyone told me I held my baby too much, but I wish I would’ve held him more!”

Another said, “These contraptions must be perfect for out in public! I always had problems with people touching my baby at the grocery store.”

After the front desk explained that I was looking for the other branch of their nursing home, I told them all goodbye and headed back to the car.

Once we arrived at the correct location, I wrapped Bubba up again and we walked inside. The front desk lady here knew who I was asking for and directed me to the correct door. As I turned to go, she saw Bubba and excitedly said, “Is that a baby?? Can I take you to meet someone?”

Not sure what to expect, I let her take me down a hallway near where my friends were performing. As we walked, I noticed that to the left there was a little cubby hole in the wall with a baby changing table and four baby dolls all dressed and swaddled.

I directed my attention forward as the lady from the front desk introduced me to an elderly woman in a wheel chair. As she turned the elderly lady around, I saw she had a little baby girl doll swaddled and pressed close to her chest. I did not catch the elderly ladies name, but she introduced me to her “babies” and told me all about them.

I turned to show her Bubba and her eyes lit up like a Christmas tree!

She squeaked and said, “Oh he’s so beautiful!”

She teared up a little as I sat down to speak with her.

She asked, “What’s that he is in? It’s so pretty! I can tell he likes it!”

I explained the K’tan to her and unwrapped Bubba so I could demonstrate how to put him in. She was fascinated. πŸ™‚

She said, “There is such neat stuff theses days, I need to get one of those for my babies!”

We talked for a while longer. All the while she tended to her babies; redressing them, changing diapers, swaddling them, setting them down for naps and showing them to Bubba. I sat Bubba on my lap so he could see her. He really enjoyed the attention and I don’t think I’ve ever seen him smile and giggle that much for another person besides me.

On my way out I spoke with a nurse and she explained that this section of the nursing home was the dementia ward.

I cried all the way home. I texted my husband when we got home and told him I might have met myself in 50 years.Β I hope my momma heart is so strong, that even if I forget everything else in the world, I’ll never forget that I am a mom. Just like that lady. ❀

ThatNewCrunchyMom

