Hi there! 🙂

As we continue to celebrate World Breastfeeding Week, I thought it be appropriate to talk about the reasons we breastfeed.

There was a time in my son’s first week that I told my husband, “I don’t want to do this, it’s too hard!” with tears streaming down my face.

He asked me, “Why?”

“Because I don’t like it. I don’t feel like I’m bonding and sometimes it hurts.”

Now, part of the bonding problem was from being in NICU. I did not end up (Thank God) having post partum depression, but I did have a lot of anxiety from the NICU. 

I told him, “I’d rather pump and bottle feed him. I cannot do this.”

He said, “I’m pretty sure most women hate breastfeeding, at least for awhile.”

Lo and behold, he was right. As I talked with people it became apparent that this was the norm among them.

I remember wondering, why do people breastfeed?

The simple answer is, we love our babies. We love them so much we sacrifice things for them. Our sleep, our sanity, our breasts, our bodies. Really everything.

Now I breastfeed my son because I enjoy it. I want him to know I’m there for him, whether he needs food, comfort, to nurse to sleep, or just to nurse and play.

I breastfeed because I want him to have the best chance of having a healthy gut and immune system.

I breastfeed because I know it’s what is best for us.

I breastfeed because he likes it, and his is the only opinion that matters at the end of the day ❤

Why do you breastfeed?

Love,

ThatNewCrunchyMom

